Hotel Ideal 2001 

Hotel Ideal 2001 was an initiative of the theatrical company Laika, the children’s art centre Villanella and Berchem Cultural Centre, all three of which are located in the same neighbourhood. Hotel Ideal took place from 16 to 21 April 2001 as part of the Tweetakt arts festival.

After the sombre mood left by the elections, there was a need to do something positive about the general spirit of intolerance that seemed to have taken hold of the people of Antwerp. Hotel Ideal was a community, art and encounter project. Actually, we wanted to turn a ‘problem situation’ (a shopping street with lots of vacant premises) into a unique happening. Hotel Ideal was a temporary abode for dreams, memories, art and fancy.

For a whole week, from 16 to 21 April, we wanted as many shop premises as possible to be inhabited. We invited ‘ordinary artists’ and ‘extraordinary people’ to turn Statiestraat into the buzzing centre of the city in whatever way they could think of. Eccentrically, but never provocatively, we interfered with everyday life. The local associations and shopkeepers were encouraged to take an active part, as were the locals themselves, of course.

How did you like Hotel Ideal 2001? Leave us your comments!
Name
Email address (optional)
Comment
Please fill in the required fields.
Your comment has been submitted.

Done
A co-production with Villanella and Tweetaktfestival  |  ARTISTIC DIRECTOR Jo Roets and Marc Verstappen DESIGN Susana Machado TECHNICAL DIRECTOR Tim Zeegers STAGE MANAGER Teun Cleymans BUSINESS DIRECTOR Leen Laconte

Hotel Ideal 2001 

Hotel ideal 2001 est né sur l'initiative de la compagnie de théâtre Laika, du centre artistique pour enfants Villanella et du centre culturel de Berchem, tous trois implantés dans le même quartier. Hotel ideal s'est déroulé du 16 au 21 avril 2001 dans le cadre du festival des arts Tweetakt.

Dans le climat morose de la période post-électorale, il nous a paru essentiel de faire quelque chose pour sortir les Anversois de leur torpeur. Hotel ideal était un projet artistique de quartier encourageant les rencontres. Notre objectif était en fait de faire d'une " situation problématique " (la désaffectation de rues commerçantes) un événement exclusif. Hotel ideal ouvrait la porte au rêve, aux souvenirs, à l'art et à l'enthousiasme.

Du 16 au 21 avril, nous avons investi un maximum de magasins désaffectés de la Statiestraat afin de la faire revivre et de la transformer en un haut lieu de rendez-vous. Pour ce faire, nous avons fait appel à des " artistes ordinaires " et à des " gens pas comme les autres " qui, d'une façon ludique et sans la moindre provocation, ont secoué les esprits. Les habitants du quartier, associations et commerçants locaux ont été encouragés à participer activement à ce projet.

Laissez-nous votre avis sur Hotel Ideal 2001. Soumettrez un commentaire!
Nom
Adresse courriel (facultatif)
Commentaire
Veuillez remplir tous les champs obliatoires.
Votre commentaire a été soumis.

Terminer
Une coproduction de Laika, Villanella et Tweetaktfestival  |  DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE Jo Roets et Marc Verstappen SCENOGRAPHIE Susana Machado COORDINATION TECHNIQUE Tim Zegers PRODUCTION Teun Cleymans DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE Leen Laconte