Ongelikt-King Lear15+

Lear has had enough. He wants to keep his crown, but he has decided to divide his kingdom among his daughters. It’s about time he started a peaceful old age.

And so he casually asks his ‘dearly beloved’ how much they love him. Their answer is ‘sweet’, ‘sweeter’ and ‘unsweetened’. That very same day, Lear finds out how quickly a heart can be trampled.

Ongelikt/King Lear is a piece about children and their parents. About intolerable fathers, absent mothers, ambitious sons and daughters with ants in their pants. They all want to take fate in their own hands. Freedom is easily confused with power and wealth makes people thoughtless and worse: friendship is betrayed and blood ties are simply ignored. But none can escape their destiny. The future is written in the stars and it’s not exactly golden.

King Lear is considered Shakespeare’s richest creation. After the great success of De Karamazovs, his first production for the large theatres, Jo Roets, Laika’s artistic director, selected this masterpiece for a co-production with HETPALEIS. Bart Moeyaert was asked to adapt this story of a family that falls apart and an old man who loses all his certainties for a young audience.

How did you like Ongelikt-King Lear? Leave us your comments!
Name
Email address (optional)
Comment
Please fill in the required fields.
Your comment has been submitted.

Done
A co-production with HETPALEIS  |  TEXT Bart Moeyaert (after Shakespeare) DIRECTOR Jo Roets PERFORMERS Pieter Bamps, Ruth Becquart, Warre Borgmans, An De Donder, Frank Dierens, Elke Dom, Lilian Keersmaekers, Simone Milsdochter, Jur Van der Lecq MUSIC Bart Maris, Eric Boeren SET DESIGN Gert Stas LIGHTING Joost de Beij COSTUMES Thijsje Strypens DRAMATURGY Bart Van den Eynde
Poster

Ongelikt-King Lear15+

King Lear est las d'être roi. Il entend garder sa couronne, mais partager son royaume entre ses filles. Il rêve d'une retraite calme et paisible.

Mine de rien, il s'enquiert de sa cote d'amour auprès de ses 'filles tendrement aimées'. Leur réponse est douce, mielleuse, ou franche. Lear apprend à ses dépends qu'un cœur peut être piétiné, du jour au lendemain.

Ongelikt-King Lear parle des enfants et de leurs parents. De pères grossiers, de mères absentes, de fils ambitieux et de gamines turbulentes. D'êtres humains qui veulent forcer le destin. D'êtres humains qui trop souvent confondent liberté et puissance et que l'avidité rend brutaux au point de trahir leurs amis, voire de renier les leurs au nom de l'argent. Mais le destin ne se laisse pas manipuler impunément. L'avenir est écrit dans les étoiles et n'est pas forcément doré.

King Lear et Hamlet sont considérées comme les deux pièces maîtresses de l'œuvre de Shakespeare. Après l'énorme succès de De Karamazovs, sa première production 'grand plateau', c'est sur ce chef-d'œuvre de Shakespeare que Jo Roets - directeur artistique de Blauw Vier - a jeté son dévolu pour une coproduction avec HETPALEIS. Bart Moeyaert a réécrit une version 'jeune public' de cette pièce qui raconte l'histoire d'une famille qui s'entredéchire et d'un vieil homme qui perd toutes ses illusions.

Laissez-nous votre avis sur Ongelikt-King Lear. Soumettrez un commentaire!
Nom
Adresse courriel (facultatif)
Commentaire
Veuillez remplir tous les champs obliatoires.
Votre commentaire a été soumis.

Terminer
Une coproduction de Laika et HETPALEIS  |  TEXTE Bart Moeyaert (d'après Shakespeare) MISE EN SCENE Jo Roets INTERPRETES Pieter Bamps, Ruth Becquart, Warre Borgmans, An De Donder, Frank Dierens, Elke Dom, Lilian Keersmaekers, Simone Milsdochter, Jur Van der Lecq MUSIQUE Bart Maris, Eric Boeren DECOR Gert Stas LUMIERES Joost de Beij COSTUMES Thijsje Strypens DRAMATURGIE Bart Van den Eynde
Affiche