BLOK-BLOC 2018 

BLOK-BLOC is a vibrant city festival organized by Laika in association with many other partners and staged in and around blocks of flats in Antwerp. This year for the first time three different neighbourhoods - the Left Bank, Kiel and Luchtbal – will be treated to ateliers, shows, open-air workshops and family days. Those living in these neighbourhoods - adults and children – are playing an important role, working alongside professional actors and directors.

BLOK-BLOC embraces the whole neighbourhood: a marquee on the square, a flat in a high-rise building, an underground garage, the local theatre, the meeting centre, a grassy expanse. We bring theatre, dance, music and great food and serve it up right in front of the spectators.

BLOK-BLOC was staged on the Left Bank in 2009, 2011 and 2013. The festival aims to encourage residents and other spectators to look at their neighbourhood in a different way.

A thread runs through the 2018 edition: CANTINA. In Belgium a ‘kantine’ is a sort of canteen where people congregate and talk fervently about their dreams and ideals. We have been working on this theme with adults from the three neighbourhoods since September 2017. Now we are making a show about it in which a number of local residents will also appear. CANTINA will then travel to Modena (Italy), Valletta (Malta), Alençon (France) and the Netherlands.

On the Left Bank pupils from the Lyceum Linkeroever are working with pupils from the Koninklijk Lyceum Antwerpen on Blue Monday, a production that deals with the same theme. At Luchtbal children from the Compagnie Airball theatre atelier and from the Sportomundo and De Optimist primary schools have been getting together every week to rehearse BEES. Both shows will be staged at BLOK-BLOC.

How did you like BLOK-BLOC 2018? Leave us your comments!
Name
Email address (optional)
Comment
Please fill in the required fields.
Your comment has been submitted.

Done
IN COLLABORATION WITH Antwerpen Boekenstad, Compagnie Airball, primary schools De Dobbelsteen, School aan de Stroom, Apenstaartjes, Sint-Anna Goethe (Linkeroever), primary schools Sportomundo and De Optimist (Luchtbal), BeHuman, inhabitants' groups HELO and Onze Stad Ons Huis, Buro voor Stedelijk Enthousiasme, Buurtsport, De Klopperij, DE Studio, Ell Circo D’ell Fuego, Fameus, Antonio Fernandez, Fiëbre, Gezusters Hirngespinst, hetpaleis, imker Rik Echelpoels, inti, JES Luchtbal, Koninklijk Lyceum Antwerpen, Mama’s Open Mic, Mestizo Arts Festival, Simone Milsdochter, Monty, Muziektheater Transparant, OOGST, Pikz Palace, Samentuin Luchtbal, Star Boy Collectief, Stedelijk Lyceum Linkeroever, Theater FroeFroe, Toneelhuis, Woonhaven, Youth Zone and many others... WITH THE SUPPORT OF District Antwerp and the Flemish government  |  BLOK-BLOC is a festival organized by Laika, kunstZ and the cultural meeting centres Elsschot, Nova and Luchtbal
Tour dates
Show past datesHide past dates
April 2018
Antwerpen
CC Elsschot 03 543 90 30
Fr13/04
Sa14/04
Su15/04
Antwerpen
OC Nova 03 259 04 20
Fr20/04
Sa21/04
Su22/04
April 2018
Antwerpen
CO Luchtbal 03/543 90 30
Fr27/04
Sa28/04
Su29/04

BLOK-BLOC 2018 

BLOK-BLOC est un festival bouillonnant dans et autour d’immeubles d’appartements, organisé par Laika en collaboration avec de nombreux autres partenaires. Cette année, BLOK-BLOC se déroule pour la première fois dans trois quartiers : Linkeroever, Kiel et Luchtbal. Nous nous y installons avec nos ateliers, nos spectacles, nos stages en plein air et nos journées familiales. Les habitants des quartiers, adultes, adolescents et enfants, jouent un rôle majeur et travaillent avec des comédiens et des metteurs en scène professionnels.

BLOK-BLOC se déroule dans tout le quartier : un chapiteau sur une place publique, un appartement dans un immeuble, un parking souterrain, un théâtre à proximité, un centre de rencontre, une pelouse… Nous venons dans les quartiers apporter du théâtre, de la danse, de la musique et de la nourriture et les posons littéralement sur les genoux des spectateurs.

BLOK-BLOC souhaite faire porter aux habitants et autres spectateurs un regard différent sur le quartier. Les éditions précédentes du festival ont eu lieu en 2009, 2011 et 2013 sur la rive gauche d’Anvers, au Linkeroever.

Pour l’édition 2018, le fil rouge est CANTINA. Dans une cantine, les gens se rencontrent et se racontent avec passion leurs rêves et leurs idéaux. Depuis septembre 2017, nous travaillons autour de ce thème avec des adultes des trois quartiers. Ensuite nous en distillons une pièce de théâtre dans laquelle jouent des habitants de ces quartiers. CANTINA partira ensuite en tournée à Modène (Italie), à La Valette (Malte) à Alençon (France) et aux Pays-Bas.

Au Linkeroever, des adolescents du lycée Linkeroever travaillent avec des adolescents du lycée royal d’Anvers à Blue Monday, un spectacle autour de ces mêmes thèmes, lieux de rencontre et échanges. Au Luchtbal, des enfants de l’atelier de théâtre Compagnie Airball et des écoles primaires Sportomundo et De Optimist répètent chaque semaine le spectacle BEEs. Les deux spectacles seront à l’affiche du festival BLOK-BLOC.

Laissez-nous votre avis sur BLOK-BLOC 2018. Soumettrez un commentaire!
Nom
Adresse courriel (facultatif)
Commentaire
Veuillez remplir tous les champs obliatoires.
Votre commentaire a été soumis.

Terminer
EN COLLABORATION AVEC Antwerpen Boekenstad, Compagnie Airball, écoles primaires De Dobbelsteen, School aan de Stroom, Apenstaartjes, Sint-Anna Goethe (Linkeroever), écoles primaires Sportomundo and De Optimist (Luchtbal), BeHuman, inhabitants' groups HELO et Onze Stad Ons Huis, Buro voor Stedelijk Enthousiasme, Buurtsport, De Klopperij, DE Studio, Ell Circo D’ell Fuego, Fameus, Antonio Fernandez, Fiëbre, Gezusters Hirngespinst, hetpaleis, imker Rik Echelpoels, inti, JES Luchtbal, Koninklijk Lyceum Antwerpen, Mama’s Open Mic, Mestizo Arts Festival, Simone Milsdochter, Monty, Muziektheater Transparant, OOGST, Pikz Palace, Samentuin Luchtbal, Star Boy Collectief, Stedelijk Lyceum Linkeroever, Theater FroeFroe, Toneelhuis, Woonhaven, Youth Zone et beaucoup d'autres... AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE District Anvers et le gouvernement flamand.   |  BLOK-BLOC est un festival de Laika, kunstZ et les centres culturels Elsschot, Nova et Luchtbal
Dates tournée
Afficher les dates passéesMasquer les dates passées
Avril 2018
Antwerpen
OC Elsschot 03 543 90 30
ve13/04
sa14/04
di15/04
Antwerpen
OC Nova 03 259 04 20
ve20/04
sa21/04
di22/04
Antwerpen
CO Luchtbal 03/543 90 30
ve27/04
sa28/04
di29/04